Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Sceen Goes Blank And Vid Card Burns

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 cateyes

cateyes

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:30 PM

Posted 04 November 2005 - 11:59 PM

Ok. I am not a techie. I just like to play games. So I set up my computer (HP Pavilion a350n) with a new vid card (ATI 9600) to play Everquest II. I played with no problems for about 2 months and then suddenly when I played my computer screen would go blank. The computer was still lit with the power on button, but my monitor wasn't responding. I at first thought it was the monitor that was having the problem (since it was 12 yo) but it never happened when I was just surfing or using Word. Only during Everquest. The problem became more frequent and so I opened the computer up and found the vid card was almost literally smoking. All the fans were working and there was very little to no dust in there. So after discussing the problem with a couple of friends they thought maybe my power supply was too low. The specs on the vid card suggested at least 300 watts and I had a 250 in there. (like I said I am not a techie...didn't think to match the specs of the power supply). So fine. Went out and replaced the 250 with a 350. Still blanked. I figured my vid card was fried so I sent it in for warranty replacement. It came back 2 weeks late