Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

question about the motivation of malware volunteer team

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Thomsieboms

Thomsieboms

• Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:57 AM

Posted 30 August 2010 - 06:32 PM

Hello everyone,

i'm new to Bleeping computer and i learned that you guys have a team of skilled people who help people out with viruses, malware etc. ontheir computer, on a voluntary basis. Now don't get me wrong, i highly appreciate this kind of help and take my hat of and bow deeply to the people who put in their time and sweat drops to help a troubled computer user whose machine has been taken over by the dark side ;-)
I couldn't help but wonder what the reward is for those helpers.
-do they try to gain experience in removing nasty stuff?
-are they working for antivirus companies and aim to learn as much as possible from latest threats?
-are they simply crazy about computer technique and devote their spare time to deal with this as a hobby?
-is it just to help your fellow man and feel good about it? (nothing against this one ^_^ )

I am posing this questions, because it seems to me that a higly technical skill is involved and their are heaps of requests, so actually maybe people could make a living out of this in working for an antivirus company?

Any thoughts on this?