Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

XP Freezes on Startup

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Schmidt_127

Schmidt_127

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:51 AM

Posted 23 August 2010 - 05:36 PM

Hello,

I am a teacher who is struggling with my computer. Windows XP will not boot correctly. If I turn the computer off I will have to restart it multiple times to finally get it to continue on. Even then it is slow and eventually freezes up. I have tried Malware and Virus detection and have found and tried to remove them but I believe they must be deep in the computer because I can't fix the problem.

Please help.

M

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 hamluis

hamluis

• 55,742 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:51 AM

Posted 23 August 2010 - 05:52 PM

System manufacturer and model, please?

FWIW: Freezes, inability to boot, etc...often have nothing to do with malware. Common other factors contributing to such include hardware problems, software problems, and O/S problems...and overheating.

Any onscreen error messages?

Louis

#3 Schmidt_127

Schmidt_127
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:51 AM

Posted 24 August 2010 - 11:29 AM

Hello,

Thanks for your time and help. I posted but was not sure if it uploaded.

Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Version 2002, Service Pack 3

Computer Equus Computer Systems