Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

TrojanDownloader:win32/Unruy.D

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
7 replies to this topic

#1 Hit Elev

Hit Elev

• Members
  • 32 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:06 PM

Posted 22 August 2010 - 09:05 PM

Hi,

I am a newbie to this forum, hope I've posted this in the right place.

Yesterday, after turning on my PC, Windows Defender detected a severe threat with the following scan results:

Name: TrojanDownloader:win32/Unruy.D
Alert level: Severe
Action: Remove

Category: Trojan Horse
Description: This program is dangerous and downloads other programs.
Advice: Removes this software immediately
Resources: process: pid:668
process: pid:812
File: C:\System Volume Information\Microsoft\smss.exe
File: C:\System Volume Information\Microsoft\services.exe

When I hit the Remove All button, the following message appears:
Windows Defender encountered an error: 0x80501001. One or more actions could not be completed successfully.

My PC is running on Windows XP Home Edition Ver 2002 SP3. I also have CA Anti-virus software installed in my PC but it is not detecting anything serious.

I have tried searching the internet for a possible solution and is now at my wits' end. I would be most grateful if you could help me solve this issue.

Thank you and regards

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 boopme

boopme

To Insanity and Beyond