Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Trojan Bamital!info causing fatal system error

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 hitgirl

hitgirl

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:27 AM

Posted 22 August 2010 - 04:39 PM

Hi guys,
I am a newbie so please be patient.
I have windows XP home and use google chrome as my browser.
2 days ago I couldn't get any icons/start up menu to appear on my desktop.
I googled this and as per advice accessed the internet using Ctl+Alt+Del.
I ran Norton antivirus which said there were no threats.
But subsequently, Norton kept popping up saying security threats were detected and that they were prevented.
Also I was being directed to websites automatically instead of the ones I wanted.
This morning, Norton detected this Trojan Bamital!info and said it required manual removal but when I tried to it said that the virus could not be removed.
I followed the instructions on the symantec website which asked me to out the computer in safe mode using F8.
Before that i installed and ran MBAM which detected adware and other trojans and all were succesfully removed but the trojan bamital!info was not detected.
I then tried to go into safe mode but it just kept going in a loop repeatedly and went into automatic restart.
I tried the start windows normally, safe mode with networking etc and nothing works.