Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Can not connect Win7 to 2k3 domain

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 ThomasDG

ThomasDG

• Members
  • 59 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:55 PM

Posted 17 August 2010 - 08:13 AM

Can not connect to domain

I have been running windows 7 on a workgroup for several months now. I just recently had a need to connect it to the domain which is hosted on a windows 2k3 small business server. When I enter the domain name, it allows me to enter the username and password. It comes back with the error: An attempt to resolve the DNS name of a domain controller in the domain being joined has failed. Please verify this client is configured to reach a DNS server that can resolve DNS names in the target domain. For information about network troubleshooting, see Windows Help.

All of the IP and DNS settings are set up to auto. After looking at my settings through ipconfig, I have the same DNS as all of the other computers connected to the domain. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Thomas

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Baltboy

Baltboy

Bleepin' Flame Head

• BC Advisor
  • 1,430 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:55 PM

Posted 18 August 2010 - 10:39 AM