Posted 17 August 2010 - 10:01 PM
By default, you are prompted "Are you sure you want to move this file to the Recycle Bin" and then it moves to the Recycle Bin. It still is NOT deleted until you empty the Recycle Bin. So that's several opportunities to not delete a file.
If you are wanting to protect data, you are in an office so are you on a domain and do you have a file server? If so, you can use NTFS permissions to lock down folders where some users have modify access and everyone else (for example) have read only and cannot delete or modify the data.