Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Norton can't remove backdoor.tidserv!inf from atapi.sys

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
5 replies to this topic

#1 Brett C

Brett C

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:54 AM

Posted 16 August 2010 - 01:58 PM

Hello I'm new here looking for help, any would be greatly appreciated. Also I'm a novice at computer troubleshooting. That being said...

I've been having a problem with Norton 360 detecting the above mentioned virus. It requires manual removal from atapi.sys but never gets removed. Could this be a false positive? Attached are two ComboFix logs. Log1 was run before Log2. This has not solved the problem. I have two other computers on XP with "clean" atapi files. Would I just be able to take the relevant files from the C://WINDOWS or not? If not, where can I get a clean version of atapi.sys. I'm very hesitant to do anything involving the Recovery disk. Please reply and thank you very much for any time you take to help me.

Brett C.

Attached Files

Edited by hamluis, 16 August 2010 - 02:44 PM.
Moved from Xp forum to Malware Removal Logs ~ Hamluis.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Noviciate

Noviciate

• Malware Response Team
  • 5,277 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:54 PM

Posted 17 August 2010 - 04:29 PM

Good evening. smile.gif