Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Website Help, Please For Novice

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 azyardies

azyardies

• Members
  • 52 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:53 AM

Posted 30 October 2005 - 10:54 AM

OOps Website Help (not nebsite)
I hope you can help me out with a some questions. I have VERY little knowledge on setting up a website.

-I would like to learn how to make my own web site. Template usage will be o.k. Want maybe about 10 pages or so for now.
MAYBE in the future, would like ecommerce ( it is for a small family furniture & accesories type store)
I read Ecomerce/shopping cart can be pricey to have. SO, as business blooms, I may condsider getting it-

Would like to learn how this website stuff works. According to Yahoo, I can get a domain with them
for $2.99 which is good for 1 year. But, what else do I need. Server, host? what do they do?
anything else? do they mean the same thing? If this price is true and I dont have to have them host my site just because I registered the domain with them, then Should I get the name first> then look for the host>then transfer to that particular host?

-I dont mind doing the work (pictures, text,etc) so long as it is simple for a beginner as myself. I just dont know how to get started and which host to use.
-