Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Ram/Hard drive/OS Problem?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 CallMeIshmael

CallMeIshmael

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:47 AM

Posted 12 August 2010 - 11:50 AM

So I'm new to this whole "help forum" thing, but here it goes:

I have a dell XPS 400 computer that was running Windows XP. Over the years it builds up junk and my little brother got some viruses on it. Last time this happened I reinstalled the OS from a Microsoft disk and it was fine. Well it happened again, so I went to reinstall the OS disk and this is where the problems start to happen.

The disk takes forever to install (Due to a bad primary cd tray I had to configure the computer to boot from the secondary tray which is much slower, but I'll bring that up later), and finally does, but not without not being able to find some files. Most noticeably ntldr. So now my computer won't boot to windows.

Me being crafty as I thought I was, I downloaded linux to a usb drive on my other computer (By linux specs and programs) , and figured if windows was not working, ubuntu would be able to boot from the pendrive and I'd eventually get windows back.