Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

New graphics cards and motherboard power supply

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Mr Thunderwing

Mr Thunderwing

• Members
  • 22 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:52 PM

Posted 11 August 2010 - 05:09 PM

Hi All,

I'm after a bit of advice please. I want to upgrade my graphics card - I'm a total noob at this sort of thing, so have been doing a bit of research to try and figure out what I need to do. I've sussed out that I need an AGP card, but I've got absolutely no idea how to figure out if my motherboard's current power supply will be enough for the card I want.

Some technical details:

My motherboard's a P4 Titan GA-8S661 FXM series (on a UK power supply, dunno if that makes any difference), my current GPU is a NVIDA Geforce FX 5200 and I was planning on upgrading to a Geforce 7600 GT. My CPU's a Pentium 4 running a 3.00Ghz with 2 GB RAM.

Any advice on this would be very gratefully recieved.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 MrBruce1959

MrBruce1959

My cat Oreo

• BC Advisor
  • 6,378 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:52 AM

Posted 11 August 2010 - 05:35 PM

Can you please post the specs on your current PSU's output?

Either post the brand and model number or post the output ratings you see on the PSU's label.

Thanks in advance.

Bruce.

Welcome to Bleeping Computer! :welcome: