Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Limited Web Access + Can't download Anti Virus

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 djenkinz

djenkinz

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:56 PM

Posted 04 August 2010 - 01:14 PM

I am not an expert in computers, but I am adept enough to follow instructions to get things done. I would prefer to fix this problem without spending any money.

I have Windows XP on my HP laptop, which I have had since 2003. It has very few programs on it and very few documents. It does have approximately 16 GB of music (which I do not want to lose). The CPU works great - very fast, no problems.

The CPU was not used on the Internet for a few years and the Anti-Virus programs were uninstalled by me some time back. Two months ago, it was re-connected to DSL through wireless and ethernet at times. I forgot to install a new anti virus program, even though I did install AdAware.

Within the past week, these symptoms appeared:
- I can only access a limited number of websites - they appear to be the sites I frequent the most. Any other sites I try to visit, the broswer says there is a connection problem.
- I can get to the Google homepage and search a topic. However, when the results come up, I am not re-directed to any of the linked pages.
- I cannot download any anti virus programs from the internet.