Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Trojans blocking my internet connection

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
34 replies to this topic

#1 chowder87

chowder87

• Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:12 AM

Posted 04 August 2010 - 03:05 AM

Please keep in mind I'm quite a noob here... here's the background info:

So I have windows XP, and my Norton antivirus expired years ago... in its place I have AVG, which I've long since given up on trying to keep up with all the updates. I get occasional warnings of viruses, and AVG is rarely able to perform my "heal" or "remove" commands, however the viruses never did anything (that i noticed), so I let it be...

Anyway, Windows security alerts was bugging me for updates, so on July 30, against my better judgement, I ran the update and some service pack gets installed. Next thing, AVG is constantly alerting me of dozens of trojans (without being able to do anything about it, as usual), and immediately my wireless internet connection fails (it is constantly "acquiring network address"). Same problem even if I plug directly to modem.