Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

safe mode loop using msconfig, no floppy bootdisk

• Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 oldbattleaxe

oldbattleaxe

• Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:51 PM

Posted 03 August 2010 - 11:04 PM

First off let me start by saying hello. I am a newbie and would greatly appreciate any help or advice that the forum can give.

I am running windows xp on an older dell desktop.

While following the bc tutorial "remove antispyware soft" I was directed to the "how to start windows in safemode" tutorial. This tutorial instructed me to start computer in safe mode using MSconfig. Upon doing so my computer gets stuck in a re-boot cycle that I cannot get out of. According to the tutorial this is because of the malware, (see section titled, "Problems that can occur by forcing Safe Mode using the System Configuration Utility", unfortunately this section is at the very bottom and not sequential. It should be at the top for morons like me). The tutorial recommends using boot disk to reboot my computer. Unfortunately this is my old computer and I no longer have any XP associated disks. Can I fix this problem without any xp boot disk? I have no floppy disk drive (its been broken for years), but my cd-rom drive works. Again any help would be greatly appreciated.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Elise

Elise