Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Hacked By Mr. Deep

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 KIJANG

KIJANG

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:50 PM

Posted 03 August 2010 - 08:57 AM

greetings all,

this is my first post to this site. I use a computer almost every day, but I am not an expert. I am having trouble with a Compaq Presario CQ40 with VISTA I bought a year ago for business (worst PC purchase I ever made, needed a small laptop quick, should have waited). I travel a lot and while in Indonesia I had to reinstall VISTA (don't ask). I left the computer connected to the internet all night while updates were being downloaded. Later on I notice IE read "Hacked by Mr. Deep" at the top of the window. I had trouble logging into my gmail account, thats when I noticed the "hacked by..." I promptly shut down that computer and used another to change passwords on any accounts I may have used on the "infected" pc.

I was running AVG Free at the time as well as Malwarebytes. Scans with both turned up nothing. I have now installed Norton 2010 (paid version) and scans still show nothing, tried Ad Aware too, nothing detected. Everything is up to date.
This Compaq has always been slow (1gig memory) but seems excessively slow now, especially start up. Need to add more memory, but waiting to see if this PC is worth it.