Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Sata Drive

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 granmaf

granmaf

• Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:21 PM

Posted 26 October 2005 - 08:47 AM

i am new to this, just built my first computer without much problems but i want to boot from the sata drive. i have a ide drive in now and a sata both are formatted primary drives and are viewed in disk management but i cannot boot from the sata alone even tho i made it bootable. don't know how to set the bios up, it doesn't have anything that i know of that says to make it boot from sata, please help i'd like to use this drive.also would like some info on power supply, just got a cheap case to start with that had a power supply in it. also what kind of heatsink would you recommend, i don't think the one i have is good enough,because it gets hot sometimes. thanks

Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
CPU Type AMD Athlon XP, 2200 MHz (11 x 200) 3200+
Motherboard Name Abit KW7 (5 PCI, 1 AGP, 4 DDR DIMM, Audio, LAN)
Motherboard Chipset VIA Apollo KT880
System Memory 2048 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM)
BIOS Type Award (10/01/04) Award BIOS Type Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
Video Adapter ALL-IN-WONDER 9700 SERIES - Secondary (128 MB)
Video Adapter ALL-IN-WONDER 9700 SERIES (128 MB)
3D Accelerator ATI Radeon 9700 Pro (R300)