Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

DVD types?

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 MickinPlymouthUK

MickinPlymouthUK

• Members
  • 669 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:07 PM

Posted 27 July 2010 - 07:56 PM

Hi, I'm relatively new to DVD burning and have been meaning to ask about DVD types for some time but chickened out til now in case I appeared stupid (sniffle)
Believe me, I've tried to look it up on the net but am still not sure, then when I asked at the local computer shop I was left punch drunk by a barrage of unfathomable techy-talk..

Firstly, There are 4 types, right? namely-
DVD-R
DVD-RW
DVD+R
DVD+RW

Secondly what does the '-' and '+' signify?

Third,why do people use the R (write-once) types?
I mean, why not use the RW (re-writeable) ones all the time so they can write new data over them in the future?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 ReviverSoft

ReviverSoft

Happy to help!

• Members
  • 1,552 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:07 PM

Posted 27 July 2010 - 08:04 PM

Posted Image
- Osta.org

The distinctions in the types are actually based on how the data is written to and read from the disk

Posted Image
- Afterdawn.com

Hope that helps. :thumbsup:

Edited by ReviverSoft, 27 July 2010 - 08:05 PM.

ReviverSoft - Happy to help!

#3 Capn Easy

Capn Easy

• Members
  • 597 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:07 PM