Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Hosts: 255.255.255.255 broadvast host - why is this on system

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 laopa

laopa

• Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:51 PM

Posted 26 July 2010 - 06:12 PM

Hi,

Real newbie here so please excuse the dumb questions and comments.

I ran a HighJackThis scan this morning (first in a long time) and noticed these two listings. I do have a wireless card in my PC and I do have a wireless router but both are turned off and secured as far as I am aware. I also run HostMan Hosts files.

O1 - Hosts: ::1 localhost
O1 - Hosts: 255.255.255.255 broadcasthost

No idea what they are and if I need to do anything. Your help would be appreciated.

Regards

laopa :thumbsup:

System: 2.85 Gigahertz Intel Core2 Quad Q9550, twin 500GB Raid Mirrored HDDs, 4GB RAM, External 1.5TB HDD, Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3 (build 2600) with HL-DT-ST BDDVDRW GGC-H20L [CD-ROM drive] and NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT [Display adapter], LGE W2252 [Monitor] (23.0")