Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Repeated Intrusion Attempts

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 lugnut33

lugnut33

• Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:59 AM

Posted 20 July 2010 - 08:01 PM

Hello,

This is my first time posting so pardon my lack of knowledge about what to say, ask, and/or do. My Norton AntiVirus 2010 keeps prompting me about repeated intrusion attempts from various IP addresses. They happen every few minutes, then the machine locks up. I'm running Windows XP SP3. Norton says it's an https tidserv request.

No clue what to do....help.

Thanks

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Michael York

Michael York

Authorized Symantec Representative

• Members
  • 118 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:59 AM

Posted 10 August 2010 - 07:09 PM

Hi lugnut33,

This is Mike from the Norton Authorized Support Team.

The fact that Norton is blocking the intrusion attempt means that Norton is doing it's job. However, I would like to know which IP addresses are apparently attacking your machine so please look through the Security History and let me know what it has recorded. You may also have other infections on your system that are causing the freezing Please check the "Recent History" pull-down for any entries that may indicate an infection and let me know what was found.