Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Express Media player

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 glennkirw

glennkirw

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:32 PM

Posted 16 July 2010 - 06:43 PM

Hello everybody, I'm new to this and I hope I have posted it in the right place. If I have not please let me know and I will try to move it if I'm told where it should be.

I have a Toshiba Satellite m110 with the the buttons down the left side of the keyboard, one being for Express Media Player, the drive has been formatted and partitioned loosing the Express Media Player. I have since found that for my model this program should have been installed before installing XP using a second disk for the Express Media that was supplied when I purchased the laptop. The problem is I can not locate this disk, I have the normal XP recovery disk but not the Express Media one.

I have spoken to Toshiba Support and they said unlike later models that had a separate partition for recovery this model needs a specific disk for the Express Media and it is no longer available. Also on later models it was possible to reinstall a clean copy of XP and it would put an Icon on the desktop to download Express Media, this would not work with my model. Neither would the "Toshiba Recovery Media Creator" program that can be down loaded from them.