Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Dell Inspiron E1405 and the Hitachi mayhem

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 mohavepc

mohavepc

• Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:27 PM

Posted 15 July 2010 - 07:55 PM

I think I may have a unique Problem for you guys.
First a little background. I am a certified Tech and I own a store in Lake Havasu City, Az
I have been fighting with this problem for 2 days and I am totally perplexed. I have never seen this happen before so maybe someone else here has and can help.
I have a customers Dell Inspiron E1405 that is running XP media center. The original 80gb Hard drive failed whist he was in Cali. He had a shop ther clone the old drive to a new Hitachi 500gb Model HTS725050A9A Travelstar. After cloning the 500GB showed up as 78.2GB. but was functioning just fine with a loss of 400GB. I get the machine and look into the bios. says 78.2GB. using Hitachi's tools I find that the hard drive has been modified. returning it to 500.11GB says it took and reboot.