Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

A virus I've had for a while

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Exusia

Exusia

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:11 AM

Posted 11 July 2010 - 07:02 PM

So one day, my computer was having trouble getting an internet connection, and so I leave the room, go back and try to troubleshoot and my background is replaced with a teal backdrop and this text:
YOUR COMPUTER IS INFECTED!
There was some other stuff beneath it that said something of the order of my connection being shut down to prevent further infection. At any rate, I can't run many applications (Notepad, Microsoft Office, etc.) but individual scripts run fine. Sometimes, the background will turn bright green but keep the same text, and then I can't use any applications at all. Can someone help me out?

EDIT: Computer in question has 5 accounts, of which at least 2 have this problem.

Edited by Exusia, 11 July 2010 - 07:04 PM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 MrBruce1959

MrBruce1959

My cat Oreo

• BC Advisor
  • 6,377 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:11 AM

Posted 11 July 2010 - 08:02 PM

I suggest you try to download, install and run MalwareBytes http://www.malwarebytes.org/

Edit: Your post was already moved to the AII section of the BC forums. (So I removed my previous directions.)