Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Noob Questions About Ubuntu

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
5 replies to this topic

#1 phoenixcrash

phoenixcrash

• Members
  • 119 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:46 PM

Posted 07 July 2010 - 06:15 PM

I'm a complete noobie when it comes to using Linux/Ubuntu, so bear with me here. I have installed Ubuntu to a partition so that I can dual-boot Windows XP and Ubuntu. I have read that Ubuntu comes with no codecs, repositories, packages? I had absolutely no idea about any of this stuff. My main purpose in using Linux is to be able to use all of the components in a program called Aircrack-ng. I do not have an internet connection on this computer. So, is there any way someone could tell me a place I could download all the essential packages/codecs, and then explain how to install them. Doesn't matter if your answer is as long as a book, I need all the help that I can get. Thanks in advance.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 cryptodan

cryptodan

Bleepin Madman

• Members
  • 21,868 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:46 PM

Posted 07 July 2010 - 07:34 PM

Have you added the restricted repos to your apt-get sources list?

Ubuntu 10.04 Release on apt-get

#3 MrBruce1959

MrBruce1959

My cat Oreo

• BC Advisor
  • 6,377 posts
  •  

Posted 07 July 2010 - 09:11 PM