Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Hacking The Hackers !

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 newdadolddad

newdadolddad

• Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:15 AM

Posted 15 October 2005 - 08:53 PM

Hello everybody,

I'm pretty new to computers. I mean there is a lot to know. I bought an
emachine last year and did not spend a lot because I knew that I would mess
it up some how. Thank goodness it came with a backup restore disk! I have
used this disk over fifteen times in a year. Why? well let's say that I don't like
bundled spyware, from anyone. even if it is from Microsoft. It all started with
me un-installing messenger, ICQ, AOL, Norton Anti-virus ect.... all of these services
(in my opinion,) spy on you, or me as it were.

Key-loggers, cookies, and third parties oh my!! I just want to use the
internet and be anonymous. I use Zone Alarm and it works well. I am having
trouble turning off the ping feature. In ZA you can disable being pinged.
More to the point you can block incoming ping. I have done this and then
went to a website called Shields up (www.grc.com) to check my firewall and
overall internet signature, and I am still answering this ping?

So, now I am trying to learn how to close my open ports. I downloaded
a nice little utility called x-Netstat that adds a GUI to the netstat feature that