Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

How do I prevent LAN Setting changes by Malware?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 mitzikbh

mitzikbh

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:05 PM

Posted 28 June 2010 - 12:25 AM

I am a novice that can't afford the $150 BestBuy or TrendMicro want to remove problems from my computer. I have been infected three times this month by avsoft Trojan.Fraudpack, and avsuite Rogue.AntivirusSuite. The first time I found excellent advice from BleepingComputer.com on how to remove these, via TrendMicro and Malwarebytes anti-malware. It was three weeks before the second attack, then two days until the third. I have tried to figure out what website it is coming from with no success. I suspect one of the ones my spouse looks at but whatta ya do...

The Trendmicro software (cheap version) seems to be slow in identifying the attack but at least it does after awhile, and seems to stop the malware long enough that I can get the computer to open Malwarebytes and begin the scan to find and remove the malware.

The malware seems to go straight to the LAN settings and checks the box allowing proxy. It blocks me from going to Internet Options to change it back to the correct settings.