Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Installation issues

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Kyle B

Kyle B

• Members
  • 50 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:13 PM

Posted 25 June 2010 - 10:18 AM

The lab in which I'm an intern recently got two new custom-made PCs. Here are the (what I think is relevant) specs:

CPU: Wolfdale E6500 2.93GHz
Motherboard: MSI G41M-S01
RAM: 4GB PC3-8500
HDD: Seagate 500GB SATA2 7200RPM
GPU: GMA X4500

Now, as I try to install Windows 7 Enterprise, courtesy of my school, it simply won't install. At the screen where I pick the partition to install it in, I keep getting an error, saying "The computer's hardware may not support booting to this disk. Ensure that the disk's controller is enabled in the computer's BIOS menu." This is on an untouched, straight out of the factory, hard drive.

The funny thing is, I downloaded a copy of the latest build of Ubuntu, and that installed completely fine without any issues.

Does anyone have any clue as to what might be going on?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Broni

Broni

The Coolest BC Computer

• BC Advisor
  • 42,696 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:13 PM

Posted 25 June 2010 - 12:49 PM

See here: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/925481

My Website

p4433470.gif

My help doesn't cost a penny, but if you'd like to consider a donation, click p22001735.gif

#3 Kyle B

Kyle B