Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Is There An Appropriate Order For Scanning Computer?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 deniroa

deniroa

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:28 PM

Posted 13 October 2005 - 09:28 AM

i am new to the forum and maybe this has been asked already or explained somewhere. i am very new at this so please forgive me if this is a silly question.
is there a particular order in which you should use the various programs for scanning and cleaning your computer?
for example, i have ad-aware, spybot s&d, ccleaner and avast. is it better to run one before another? is there a certain order to follow that is most effective? should i restart my computer between each scan that i run or is it ok to run them all and then shut down?
also, is it best to run scan disk and defrag after or before all of this?
if i could just get the order in which to run evrything it would be great...or if it matters.
thanks for your help!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 tg1911

tg1911

Lord Spam Magnet

• Members
  • 19,274 posts
  •  

Posted 13 October 2005 - 09:53 AM

This is how I run them:

Scan Disk
Defrag
Antivirus (Avast)
Spyware Apps (Spybot, Ad-aware)
CCleaner

No need for a restart between scans.