Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Problem With Cd-r/rw Drive

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Uraiser

Uraiser

• Members
  • 254 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:58 PM

Posted 11 October 2005 - 05:33 PM

Hello.. Im trying to help my friend with his CD drive, Im studying for my A+ cert so i need all the practice i can get... Well.. He has a "Philips CDD4851", and im sure you've heard of numerous problems with it.. The cd continues to spin at faster speeds, never reads the disk, and continues to spin even when he ejects the cd. It sounds to me like he is missing some files, possibly a .ini or autoplay.exe. IF someone could direct me where to start so i could help him?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 usasma

usasma

Still visually handicapped (avatar is memory developed by my Dad

• BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
  • 25,091 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:58 PM

Posted 12 October 2005 - 10:56 AM

Presumably, this is XP. But most of this stuff will work with other Windows OS's.

1) Uninstall the device in Device Manager, reboot and let Windows redetect it. Then test it.
2) Go to the Philips web-site and make sure that the CD firmware is updated.
3) Try another drive in the same location to make sure that it isn't a hardware failure of the drive. Also check the cable to be sure it's good and has the proper number of wires (40 vs 80 connector)