Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Whats the difference between Norton and a Virus

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 jdbaker82

jdbaker82

• Members
  • 103 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:50 AM

Posted 16 June 2010 - 06:34 PM

Viruses are free :thumbsup:

True story.

I service computers for a living and I can tell you one nightmare story after another about Norton but today topped it all on a new Gateway FX Machine I serviced running Vista. All web browsers will not connect to internet, no software will update however he is able to send/recieve mail and in safe mode all browsers work fine and he has a valid IP address saying we are connected to the Internet. So after running a few scans and the computer being 100% squeeky clean I realized the Comcast version of their Free Norton was not opening properly nor would it allow me to remove with the add/remove programs. So I try to use the Norton Removal Tool and that fails as well saying Norton360 etc needs to be removed from add/remove programs first.... Great... Never seen this before.... So I disable every Norton service I can find using auto runs and try to remove it again.... No luck internet is still down as if it is trying to connect through a proxy but its not.