Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Creating a file

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Reddoug

Reddoug

• Members
  • 113 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:08 PM

Posted 15 June 2010 - 07:55 PM

Hi All

I am try to learn some Unix/Linus programming. I am a beginner at it. I found a bash scripting tutorial. One of the steps says to create a file (first.sh). I am using Ubuntu 10.4 in terminal.

It says to Create a file (first.sh) as follows:

first.sh
#!/bin/sh
# This is a comment!
echo Hello World # This is a comment, too!

When I type first.sh I get an error message. Can not figure out why. In the tutorial it shows first.sh underlined. If I leave off fist.sh it will print out Hello World.

Thanks, Doug

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Capn Easy

Capn Easy

• Members
  • 597 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:08 PM

Posted 15 June 2010 - 08:42 PM

If this is an online tutorial, it would be helpful to tell us where to find it.

Hi All

I am try to learn some Unix/Linus programming. I am a beginner at it. I found a bash scripting tutorial. One of the steps says to create a file (first.sh). I am using Ubuntu 10.4 in terminal.

It says to Create a file (first.sh) as follows:

first.sh
#!/bin/sh
# This is a comment!