Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Browser search redirects and can't use Windows Update

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Johnc6955

Johnc6955

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:11 PM

Posted 12 June 2010 - 06:13 PM

Hello,

I'm a system admin and I have an employees work computer that has a search page redirect. Also, they are unable to go to windows update and it looks like this may have been for some time. I've dealt with a lot of rootkits before similar to this but I have always been able to clean them up(thanks to your site and admins posts). However, in this case, I can't seem to get rid of it. I have run rootrepeal, McAfee Root detective(we also use McAfee Enterprise) and rootreveal, spybot, combofix, Ad-Aware, HJT, MBAM, mbr, TDLfix, GMER, new MVPS host file and more. Most attempts were based on the directions of what was posted by admins here. All the data was backed up, so losing everything and reinstalling would not be a problem. However, I prefer to learn by doing and I want to know how to handle this one going forward. Also, another computer seems to have the same symptoms and reformatting THAT one is an absolute last resort. OK, enough small talk, here we go.