Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Getting google redirects? CHECK YOUR ROUTER!!

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 jdbaker82

jdbaker82

• Members
  • 103 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:07 PM

Posted 08 June 2010 - 09:22 PM

So I remove malware and viruses for a living and ran into something today I have never seen before.... After removing a rogue virus from a customers computer that was locking it down I noticed anytime I did a google search and click on a link it would redirect me to some random site and the customer had a laptop and a desktop both were doing the exact same thing... I searched both PCs for an hour or two beating my head against the wall looking for infected host files, services, rootkits etc..... Both computers were coming up clean and then I stumbled into their Netgears router page and noticed the DNS server has been set to a manual address instead of automatic DNS for the ISP turns out this is exactly what was causing the redirects and infecting their machines with the rogue virus I was amazed to find that someone figured out how to write a script etc to modify the routers settings (I would recommend everyone set a password to access your router as this may prevent the code/bot from being able to run its routine on your router) I can remember exactly what the redirects were called but I think it was redirect5.googl