Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Invisible Infection - No Win Update, Pop-ups, Redirects

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 shade_v2

shade_v2

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:50 PM

Posted 08 June 2010 - 01:41 PM

I'm a computer repair tech and we've stumbled onto something in the shop that we can't beat. We've seen it twice in the past week, fought it for three days, and in both instances were forced to backup, wipe out, and reinstall the client's machine. It has proven invisible to all our scans, as well as all manual attempts to locate it.

PAY ATTENTION: I cannot provide log files. I cannot try "this" or "that," or run such-and-such tool and see what happens. These were client machines. They have been serviced and returned to the client. What I am looking for by sharing this case is aid in discovering where and how this infection is starting up. If you have had experience with this virus in the passed month - as I am sure it is something brand new - I'd like to hear what you've tried, regardless of whether it has worked or not. All infections have to get initialized somewhere. Wherever this one's hooking in, it doesn't leave a trace -- or at least, we can't find it.

So far, we've only seen it in Windows XP.

SYMPTOMS: