Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Concerned what CPUZ is telling me about my CPU

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Zebug

Zebug

• Members
  • 39 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:11 PM

Posted 06 June 2010 - 07:05 PM

ok, I am new to this stuff, just trying to learn as much as I can before I begin my first build. While playing with my current computer, I heard of this program called CPUZ (which I'm sure some of you know it).

Anyway, I have a AMD Phenom 9550 Quad core processor 2.2 Hz according to what the ad told me when I bought it and confirmed in the comps "system" information.

Now when I run CPUZ, it shows me my processor as the AMD Phenom X4 9550 (everything is good so far) but this is where I am either getting confused or my CPU is 1/2 dead.

CPUZ lists my core speed as 1100 MHz (Multiplier X5.5 Bus Speed = 200 MHz).

Is everything as it should be? I was expecting to see 2200 MHz. Or does the fact that it is a quad core mean something else? Like I said, I'm a noob at this so any insight anyone can give will be appreciated.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 the_patriot11

the_patriot11

High Tech Redneck

• BC Advisor
  • 6,755 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:11 PM

Posted 06 June 2010 - 07:33 PM