Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Windows Defender Error 0x800705b4

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 AnnaJar

AnnaJar

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:01 PM

Posted 27 May 2010 - 05:21 PM

I am a novice and this is my first question. I got this message about Windows Defender as the program told me it was turned off and when I tried to turn it on, it stated: error 0x800705b4 this operation is returned because the timeout period has expired.
I'm not sure what version of Vista I have. If someone can tell me how to determine that, I will get back to you.
I have done an online search of this problem and either I can't make sense out of the solutions or they don't work. I'm using Microsoft Security Essentials for my virus protection and I also have SuperAntiSpyware, Malewarebytes AntiMalware, CCCleaner which I used to try to fix the problem, and most recently installed Revo Uninstaller.
When I tried to go back to an earlier backup date which I had done with my previous computer in XP, I could not do so. (I also haven't been able to back up this computer in a few weeks even though I have plenty of space but that may be another issue.)
Please help! Thank you very much.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 AnnaJar

AnnaJar
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  

Posted 28 May 2010 - 10:38 AM