Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

proxy server

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 zf490

zf490

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:28 PM

Posted 27 May 2010 - 03:12 PM

Hello.
I am a newbie. My question is about the proxy server.
1- When you use a proxy to the browser. Do that change the router settings. Or is the only browser.
2- Do use a proxy change IP
3- Do that change the internal IP FOR computer or only change IP that can obtain from a software that detect IP for pc

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 keyboardNinja

keyboardNinja

Bleepin' Ninja

• Members
  • 4,815 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:28 PM

Posted 28 May 2010 - 09:33 PM

Hi, zf490. :thumbsup:

I'll do my best to answer your questions, but you can read this for all the boring details: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proxy_server

1. I'm fairly certain you can only have proxy options for a browser, not a router...but I haven't looked at my router's settings in a while, and I don't have access to it right now, so I'm not sure on this one.
2. Yes, using a proxy changes your IP address.
3. I understand the question, but I'm not positive of the answer, as I do not have experience with proxies.