Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

How Can I get Command Prompt To Work

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Henry D

Henry D

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:51 AM

Posted 24 May 2010 - 02:57 PM

Hello:

I am new to program and deisgn and I am working form a Video tutorial while I am using the operating system Windows XP. I am trying to use the command prompt feature. In this video tutorial the instructor is using operating system Windows Vista.

In opening command prompt I find there is a differnce in the first line of the coding in eighter operating systems.

In windows XP the first line in the coding displays as follows:

C:\Documents and Settings\Henry>

In Vista the first line appears as follows:

C:User\Henry

When using command prompt In XP I have this first line by default:

C:\Documents and Settings \Henry>

From there I add the following cd\

Which makes the line look like this

C:\Documents and Setings\Henry>cd \

Then hit enter and type in the next line:

C:\cd cs

Then hit the Tab key. From there all of my information should display in command prompt. Nothing happens.