Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

PC restarts when choosing account

• Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 Epacific

Epacific

• Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:08 PM

Posted 23 May 2010 - 04:43 PM

Hello world,

- A freshly minted newbie here so please be gentle :thumbsup:.

I've tried to follow the guidelines to the best of my abilities but I apologize if I missed anything- checking existing topics, I didn't find anything that exactly fit by subject so, here goes.

Yesterday evening, I came down to our basement PC to find that it was locked up - more specifically, screen was black except for numerous chinese-looking pop-ups. The computer was non-responsive so I did a hard-boot.

Upon re-starting, it comes up to the normal XP account screen (where one chooses which account to use). Up to here, all seems normal. But choosing the accounts leads to the following:
1) I'll call this account "Acct RT". This is the normal administrative account. Selecting this one causes the PC to restart. Initially, it made it to the point where I could see my wallpaper (and nothing else) and then the PC would restart. Now, it doesn't even make it that far: from the account screen, I immediately go down.