Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Extra Users following re-installation


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 jwf_1977

jwf_1977

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Local time:12:43 PM

Posted 19 May 2010 - 08:49 PM

Thanks a tonne for your help!!!!!
My computer is now running better than when I bought it, it is free and clear of all the background garbage that slowed it down.

When the reinstallation occurred there was several other users created, how do I remove those, as I only need one, all these additional pathways are they necessary?
I have in my computer > documents and settings > All users
> All users.WINDOWS
>User
> and myself

When I go into User accounts it indicates that there is only myself as the administrator, and the Guest account is off.
But when I attempt to delete these others by navigating into "Documents and Settings" it won't let me, and says windows needs these files to run properly.

Any suggestions
I am running Windows XP professional.
Thanks.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


#2 Orange Blossom

Orange Blossom

    OBleepin Investigator


  • Moderator
  • 36,801 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Bloomington, IN
  • Local time:01:43 PM

Posted 19 May 2010 - 10:06 PM

Hello,

If I'm reading this right, all those "users" you mentioned are indeed a normal and necessary part of Windows.

I have these users listed under Documents and Settings:

Administrator
All Users
Owner
Orange Blossom

They each have a specific purpose, so it's best to leave them alone.

Orange Blossom :thumbsup:

Edited to add:

All Users, for example, is used to store security information so that all users on the computer have the same security protection.

~ OB

Edited by Orange Blossom, 19 May 2010 - 10:08 PM.

Help us help you. If HelpBot replies, you MUST follow step 1 in its reply so we know you need help.

Orange Blossom

An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure

SpywareBlaster, WinPatrol Plus, ESET Smart Security, Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware, NoScript Firefox ext., Norton noscript

#3 jwf_1977

jwf_1977
  • Topic Starter

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Local time:12:43 PM

Posted 19 May 2010 - 11:15 PM

Thanks OB,
I had things set up differently before, wasn't too sure where the extra users came from as I am the only user on my CPU...since it's my personal laptop.
I will do as mentioned and simply ignore them
thanks again.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users