Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

XP SP2 - CPU is always around 65-100%

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 MrRob

MrRob

• Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:49 AM

Posted 01 October 2005 - 10:08 AM

Hi, newbie here.

See, I have this "little" problem. My Pc has been kinda slow lately, so yesterday I decided to format all drives and reinstall Windows.
I was hoping that that would fix the problem but it didn't...

Pc specs:
1400mhz AMD
640mb Ram
Maxtor Hd 40gb
Nvidia Riva TnT Model 64
Win XP Pro SP2 ( installed all the updates today)

I took a screenshot of my taskmanager (I'm running a swedish version on XP but I think you'll get the picture)

http://img143.imageshack.us/my.php?image=cputoohigh8hl.jpg

That's how high my CPU usage is with almost no apps running , I just turned the computer on. It was like that before the format/re-install too.
I can still use most of the programs, it's slow sometimes but works ok (mainly music and grafics software btw).

Now, I just got a external burner and installed a USB 2.0 card.
The burner works fine on my other Pc but it takes forever to read a dvd/cd on this computer. Altho, I can burn dvd's and cd's without any problems at all. Kinda weird don't you think.