Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Disk Cleanup Questions


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 jek1862

jek1862

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:12:33 PM

Posted 13 May 2010 - 12:32 AM

I regularly use Disk Cleanup, as you should, to help clean some of the 'junk' out of my system and free up space. However, there are a couple things listed here I do not understand and am not sure I should 'mess with'. Let me say first that I have used up 20gb of my hard drive. I know not much, but I just recently did a new install. In Disk Cleanup I am comfortable deleting everything, but for two areas. They are:
1) System queued Windows Error Reporting Files: 988mb
2) TWO listings for: Per user archived Windows Error Reporting Files: 78.3gb each. That's GIGAbytes, not megabytes!
I am wondering if I can safely delete #1. I think I can. But I don't see how I can delete #2. In the first place, I have only 'used up' 20 gb on my hard drive, so what is this anyway?? I'd like a definition of each and the green light or not to delete the files in each one. Thanks.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


#2 NightWarlock

NightWarlock

  • Members
  • 53 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:10:03 PM

Posted 15 May 2010 - 11:28 AM

Its safe to delete the "System queued Windows Error Reporting Files" things. You won't be able to debug previous crashes, but I don't think that matters much in most cases.

The second thing is slightly odd though. Don't run Disk Cleanup yet (at all), first solve this:
http://www.winhelponline.com/blog/serious-...n-registration/

Once you do, it should be safe to delete the second one too.

On an extended break.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users