Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

A+ Cert

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 jtphenom

jtphenom

• Members
  • 251 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:33 AM

Posted 04 May 2010 - 08:46 AM

Hey folks. I couldn't find another forum that seemed to be appropriate for this topic, so I'm posting it here. Let me know if there is a better forum for this.

I'm studying to get A+ certified. I've taken the software and hardware course. But that was several semesters ago (just got an A.A.S. in Information Technology), and I have purchased the latest book from Jean Andrews, "A+ Guide to Managing and Maintaining Your PC, Seventh Edition." So here are my questions:

1. Has anyone here recently been certified with the new (2009) exams?

2. I have a lot of bones to pick with Jean Andrews, mainly about her CD content. I've sent numerous e-mails to the address given on the CD, but I've gotten no responses at all. Does anyone know a good way to get a hold of the support people for this material?

3. For anyone who has used her material AND taken the exams (if anyone here fits that descripton):
a. Does her set of questions do a good job of covering the questions that are on the exams, or no?
b. Do you feel her material in general is good for preparing you for the exams?