Posted 02 May 2010 - 01:18 AM
If the files are still in the Recycle bin, then they are indeed still there intact on the drive, and you will not have recovered the space they occupy. If you empty the recycle bin, the space they occupied will become available for use. The contents of the files themselves will still be on the drive, and could be recovered, but as their locations have become available for use, their previous contents can be overwritten by new files. If this happens, trying to recover the old files will result in part or all of them having the new contents.
Top 5 things that never get done: