Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Newbie here, be gentle!

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 gadgetguy35

gadgetguy35

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:21 AM

Posted 25 April 2010 - 06:04 AM

Hey there, I am a fairly computer literate individual who would like to further my knowledge of computers in general as well as a little programming and networking tossed in.

I have a question and due to it being my bedtime(it's 6 am here, and I work nights) I will post this here and welcome a Moderator to put it in the right place.

I have a Gateway LT series netbook that is my primary PC ATM, and I am attempting to sell it to get funding for a full size laptop. I would very much like to completely overwrite and erase my hard disk whilst saving the OS, since a lack of an optical drive and recovery disk prevent me from reinstalling Windows 7 without purchasing it, and that would destroy my profit margin. How do I absolutely erase my disc? I have tried Ccleaner with free space wipe enabled, and that did not erase everything. Any freeware recovery software can bring back a lot even after a ccleaner wipe. What do I do?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Memphis T-shirt

Memphis T-shirt

• Members
  • 24 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:21 AM

Posted 25 April 2010 - 06:49 AM