Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Infected, tried rkill,mbam, need next steps

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 redhiker

redhiker

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:13 PM

Posted 22 April 2010 - 09:00 AM

Help! Here is what has happened since yesterday. Running Windows XP on Dell Inspirion. I am a malware novice but I searched this forum and followed the steps I thought would help but am at a dead-end. I apologize in advance if there are other things I should have tried before posting. I'm not an expert but can follow any detailed instructions you give me .........

Downloaded OpenOffice to read a file sent to me yesterday. (Not sure if this is the culprit but it did try to do something with Java which made me suspicious)

After rebooting I got a strange message 'NT AUTHORITY SYSTEM' when attempting to log in. Then these windows popped up:

Wireless Configuration: Notification dll has not been registered, program will not work correctly
C:\Program Files\Dell Support Center\gs_agent\dsc.exe: Unable to launch application. Please restart your computer and try again. Error code:-2147023174
BTTray: Error: Unable to start the Bluetooth Stack Services

Noticed two bad processes on my desktop. I will divulge their names if it will help but think I saw somewhere we don't want to publicize.