Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

BitDefender online scanner - false positive or actual virus?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 carissa_lee_

carissa_lee_

• Members
  • 43 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:35 PM

Posted 16 April 2010 - 01:51 AM

I was testing out BitDefender's online scanner, as I've never used an online scanner before and wanted to see if it might find something Avast or MBAM has looked over.

It came back telling me I had two viruses, Generic.Malware.SBEg.7660772E and Trojan.Generic.1109194. The locations of these viruses were C:\Program Files\Sony\Welcome to VAIO life\VAIO zone.exe and C:\Program Files\Sony\Welcome to VAIO life\WTVI.exe.

Could these be false positives? Or an actual virus thats hidden itself in an odd place?

Thank you!

*edit*
My laptop is a Sony VAIO VGN S360, so I would have assumed the files above were ones that should be on my computer, which is what makes me think it's a false positive. I'll be more than happy to provide any additional information, I just didn't know if it would be necessary. Please let me know if you need anything else!

Edited by carissa_lee_, 16 April 2010 - 02:02 AM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 boopme

boopme

To Insanity and Beyond

• Global Moderator
  • 72,759 posts
  •  

Posted 16 April 2010 - 03:14 PM