Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Avast versus Norton Security Suite

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 madex01

madex01

• Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:03 AM

Posted 13 April 2010 - 06:03 AM

I have been using Avast for several years and it has generally been good for me. It has missed a few things which I have ultimately fixed through the support of this website, and it does slow my system down at times, but for the price I can't beat it.

Anyway, my internet provider has recently offered up Norton Security Suite for free as a benefit to its customers. My question is are there any benefits to switching? I would appreciate any feedback from anyone with experiences with the two, or just some honest opinions. Thanks

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 webdr

webdr

• Members
  • 32 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:03 AM

Posted 13 April 2010 - 06:37 AM

Norton was the product of 2009 for detection rates (av-comparatives tests etc..), it is light as avast and they claim they have advanced technologies. I believe you wouldn't go wrong if you choose norton.

#3 Elise

Elise

Bleepin' Blonde

• Malware Study Hall Admin
  • 61,207 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:03 AM

Posted 13 April 2010 - 11:15 AM

Antivirus comparisons are seldom trustworthy. And even if the source is actually good, the tests are not conducted in a useful manner.