Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Building 2 PCs - Problem with One

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 imassutse

imassutse

• Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:19 PM

Posted 12 April 2010 - 10:43 AM

This is my first build and of course I decide to do two PCs. I have always done my own upgrades though, but first build from ground up. First PC was a breeze, but the second I am having some issues. Hopefully someone can help. Here are the specs.

PC # 1 (Family PC, used for surfing, music, pictures, and some videos)

Case: Raidmax Smilodon
PSU: 500W supply included with Smilodon
Motherboard: GA-H55M-UD2H (rev. 1.0)
CPU: Core™ i3-530
RAM: Corsair XMS3 4GB DDR3-1600
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Blue WD5000AAKS
Optical Drive: Sony Optiarc 24X
Graphics: On board

PC #2 (My personal PC, mild gaming and entry level graphic design)

Case: Raidmax Smilodon
Motherboard: BIOSTAR T5 XE CFX-SLI
CPU: Core™ i7-860
RAM: Corsair XMS3 4GB DDR3-1600
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Blue WD5000AAKS
Optical Drive: Sony Optiarc 24X
Graphics: PNY VCGGTS2501XPB GeForce GTS 250

I am not able to install Windows 7 on on PC #2. Here are my results,

The default SATA setting in BIOS is IDE.
When I get to the point to pick my partition/drive to install Windows 7, and I pick my drive and click Next I get the following message.