Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Am I Infected?

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Northpole

Northpole

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:26 AM

Posted 07 April 2010 - 04:54 AM

I am not technically minded and am hoping that either someone can direct me to another forum which has already asked this question, or the problem is an easily answered one. (I did try a search but without success) .

I have a 5 day old computer with Windows 7. The night before last it was inadvertently turned off while still downloading files as part of an auto update/shut down session. I spent most of last night trying to get the computer working properly.

The main problem is that a number of the key strokes dont work or at least only work as commands not the letter intended. When in word I can type the letters SIA with no problem but as soon as I type the letter M the word program minimises. The letter R in any application, in word, or typing in a password etc automatically opens a new menu asking which program I want to Run the file in. The directional arrows no longer move the cursor but the screen sides! etc etc.

Have I inadvertently switched a toggle switch which automatically opens every keyboard based short-cut or is the problem more serious?