Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Best USB Flash Drive

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Luckysam28

Luckysam28

• Members
  • 40 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:40 AM

Posted 05 April 2010 - 05:51 PM

Hello,
I am a soon-to-be college student, and I am trying to decide on the best USB flash drive to fit my needs and price. The concerns I have are that:
-There are a lot of brands out there; how do I distinguish between the more reliant ones as opposed to the knock-off brands?
-What is the line between just enough flash memory, and too much flash memory?
-Are there any types of software I should obtain to help my USB flash drive?

My particular needs for the USB flash drive will consist mostly of:
-Storing documents as a backup
-A quick file transfer tool from computer to computer

I do not want to spend more than $20-30 dollars for a USB flash drive, unless there is a significantly higher file-transfer rate in a more expensive model. Also, looking at my needs, does it seem that I would be better fit to have a portable hard drive instead of a flash drive? I know that there are some portable drives with lots of gigs of memory in the mid sixties-eighties. If I had that, I would use it for backups of my system.

Any knowledge you have to share dealing with these questions or the topic in general would be greatly appreciated!
~Stephen M